Party

NOW I KNOW

033                                                                                                              06 April 2017

MY KNOWING

We are all here to live every situation you can imagine, good or bad; right or wrong; positive or negative. Why? So we can learn from the experience as part of the adventure of life.  Murray Kibblewhite

 

CASE STUDY – HOW TO DRAW BLOOD FROM A STONE?

The other day I experienced an event – I’ll call it that – that was remarkable as it was unique.

I attended an evening function to hear a report of an organisation’s (I won’t say who) activities helping right wrongs on a Global scale.

There were several slick videos proclaiming powerful messages and engendering continued support by the faithful followers.

At the end of the speeches, the meeting took on a whole new life. Unknown to me and my host they went into “donation gaining mode” The MC was from the USA and was very professional, energetic and persistent.

Over the next three hours, we went through an amazing array of emotions from thunderous applause and shouting when someone made a donation to many quiet times as we waited for the next donation to come.

It was an amazing event as over $NZ100,000 was begged, drawn out and extracted from the small audience. The full amount was promised. The goal was achieved!

It was a miracle!

For myself, I was not a member of the group and only there as an invited guest, I did not contribute as I did not feel compelled to.

So nearly six hours after I had arrived I drove home exhausted from the experience.

It was exhilarating to learn that people can do more, much more than was originally expected of them.

In this case, it was fundraising where “blood was drawn from a stone” but for everyone they can do more, achieve more and grow more from becoming fully involved in any situation.

I have now increased my personal goals as I know I can do more!

Learnings

The message is that from every experience we have we can learn – if we realise this – rather than walk away, become judgemental and critical.

The experience helped me understand there is always more to give, to provide or to achieve. This is the learning used by athletes that separate the winners from the also-rans.

All life’s experiences are opportunities to learn. The challenge is to decide, what are the real lessons to be learnt?

Link to the blog:

https://projectlel.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

