new

NOW I KNOW

035                                                                                                               19 April 2017

MY KNOWING

We are all here to live every situation you can imagine, good or bad; right or wrong; positive or negative. Why? So we can learn from the experience as part of the adventure of life.  Murray Kibblewhite

CASE STUDY – THE THREE P’s – PATIENCE, PERSEVERANCE AND PERSISTENCE.

“Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no help at all.”Dale Carnegie – 1888-1955, Author and Lecturer

These words showed up on an e-mail I received the other day. What could I learn from them?

One project I am working on involves developing and introducing an App to help people live their lives. Coding by the App Developer had stopped as I was reconsidering the approach to take. Then, recently I had an in-depth conversation with a counsellor to addicts. She saw the opportunity to use the App to help to recover alcoholics. Now I can see how, with modifications, the App could be used by addicts in other areas. I had needed to be patient and persevere. I felt happy.

Another business project I have been waiting on has extended over two years. My business partner and I have been expecting the customer to pay us so we can start. The project involves setting up a large commercial floriculture farming operation in Kenya. Because we will be dealing with growing flowers, there are many matters to be organised before we can start planting. Yes, we have been patient but we have also needed to persevere and persist by keeping in regular contact. Now we have received a date when payment is due so we are happy.

Finally, yesterday I spoke with my son who had just returned from a three-week business trip to the USA. He told me of one visit to a prospective customer in Fort Worth. The equipment my son sells is made in New Zealand and is of the highest quality and the price is high too.

Within 30 minutes the prospective client had said, “Your prices are too high!”

So instead of leaving my son stayed on and continued talking, inspecting and explaining how the prospect could improve his business.

He stayed for five hours!! In the end, the prospect agreed to receive a quotation!

In all the above cases, we have “kept on trying when there seemed to be no help at all.”

Learnings

There are several ways to approach delays. One is to scream and shout and point the finger of blame.

Nowadays I realise that any delay is another “test” or “obstacle” for me to overcome as part of the training I am receiving in this lifetime.

So I welcome delays as I know I am learning the three P’s  –PATIENCE, PERSEVERANCE AND PERSISTENCE.

All life’s experiences are opportunities to learn. The challenge is to decide, what are the real lessons to be learnt?

 

Leave a Reply

