Now I Know

Humble

051                                                                                                              06 August 2017

MY KNOWING

We are all here to live every situation you can imagine, good or bad; right or wrong; positive or negative. Why? So we can learn from the experience as part of the adventure of life.  Murray Kibblewhite

CASE STUDY – IT IS HARD TO LEARN HUMILITY!!

Several days ago I was invited to attend a small function with my oldest friend. It turned out it was his birthday. For me, I have reached the stage in my life that I do not bother with celebrating my birthday and I certainly don’t keep track of others!

At the function were some new people in the life of my friend and I was pleased for him. While I was there I reflected upon my friend’s life and realized, in my opinion, that he was here to learn humility!

As a young man he was very very competitive in his sports – rugby, cricket and table tennis. As well, to be on top of his game he became very assertive and arrogant. This attitude then transferred into his business activities where he achieved financial success and became a “millionaire”, not once but three times! He lived in large homes in the wealthy suburbs and drove around in European cars. He was a member of the “right” tennis clubs, played golf and his children went to the top schools.

You may ask, why did he become a millionaire three times? The answer is because he lost his wealth three times! His business activities failed three times.

Now he is the caretaker of a large block of apartments living with his wife in a small apartment in the building. On the way out after the function, my friend showed me how clean and tidy he maintained the walkways, drive, and gardens. He said he had received a bonus from the residents because of the quality of his work. He was proud of what he was doing.Now, he did not need to live in a fashionable house or drive the latest expensive car or own a successful business to be happy.

He had learned humility!

Learnings

Your learnings do not become clear and obvious when you are young. Even as you grow the fact you are repeating a situation over and over again does not register as a learning experience. A coincidence, maybe, but not as a learning experience.

It is only, when much water has passed under the bridge, that you realize you are repeating the same mistakes and you change and finally become happy.

All life’s experiences are opportunities to learn. The challenge is to decide, what are the real lessons to be learnt?

 

Leave a Reply

